Partner countries

The Luxembourg Directorate of Development Cooperation has signed a general cooperation agreement with 6 partner countries:

Burkina FasoCabo Verde, LaosMaliNigerSenegal.


The primary objective of Luxembourg development cooperation is ending poverty. Its activities are imbued with an ethos of sustainable development, socially, economically and environmentally, while taking account of the distinctiveness of the target populations.

The principal sectors in which Luxembourg development cooperation is engaged are in the social arena, namely:

  • access to water and sanitation;
  • education;
  • vocational training and integration;
  • health and local development. 

Cooperation also encourages a number of microfinance initiatives (brochure [EN]).


To this end, Luxembourg’s development cooperation targets a limited number of partner countries while taking advantage of the benefits of a regional approach and taking account of fragility considerations. This spirit of partnership, manifested in the desire for the beneficiaries to take ownership of programmes and projects, provides the context for implementation of the multi-annual cooperation programmes, the ICPs (indicative cooperation programmes).

The Luxembourg development cooperation ICPs operate in accordance with the principles of the world partnership for effective development cooperation, as defined in Busan in 2011, namely:

  • the use of national systems;
  • tax and mobilisation of internal resources;
  • triangular cooperation and South/South cooperation;
  • cooperation with the private sector in the partner countries;
  • cooperation with the civil society in the partner countries.

Several Indicative Cooperation Programmes (ICPs) have been established for each partnership. For more detailed information on the ICPs, the country subheadings contain all the necessary documents. Brochures have been published to provide an overview of the partner countries and the sectors in which they cooperate with Luxembourg.

Last update