LuxDev and other partners operating under the Ministry's mandate

The Luxembourg agency for development cooperation Lux-Dev is the executive agency for most of Luxembourg's bilateral development cooperation projects.

However, other partners also operate under the ministry's mandate:

  • ADA possesses a general mandate for the period 2018-2021 for activities promoting financial inclusion;
  • Caritas in Kosovo;
  • Proman for rural development in Mali; 
  • SOS Faim for rural microfinance projects in Mali and Burkina Faso.

List of agents :

LuxDev

The Luxembourg agency for development cooperation Lux-Dev works in 14 countries throughout four continents. The bulk of these activities is concentrated on the nine Luxembourg development cooperation partner countries, defined by the Government of the Grand Duchy. Apart from Africa (Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Mali, Niger and Senegal) these countries are Nicaragua and El Salvador in Latin America and Laos and Vietnam in South-east Asia.

For each of these partner countries, an Indicative Cooperation Programme (ICP) is adopted by the Luxembourg and partner country governments. The ICP is a multiannual programme which sets the broad outlines of the cooperation (sectors, geographical areas, intervention methods) and the indicative multiannual budget allocated to the programme. It expresses the long-term commitment between Luxembourg's development cooperation and these countries. In each partner country, the Agency is represented by a regional office which shares its premises with Luxembourg's official diplomatic missions.

In addition to the partner countries, Luxembourg's Directorate of Development Cooperation maintains relations with other countries in south-eastern Europe (Montenegro and Kosovo) and in Asia (Mongolia and Myanmar).

Appui au développement autonome - ADA

Luxembourg's Directorate for development cooperation has supported the work of NGO ADA-Appui au Développement Autonome since it was founded in 1993, through cofinancings, various subsidies or mandates. The most recent mandate, signed in January 2018, covers the period 2018 to 2021.

The overall objective of the MFEA funded programme is to experiment, develop, implement and disseminate solutions for economic and financial inclusion having positive impacts on sustainable development and on the living conditions of the populations in the least developed countries. ADA's work focuses on women, poor populations, and on rural areas.

The mandate arises from the longstanding collaboration between the ministry and the NGO and concerns seven result areas. ADA, in partnership with the MFEA, aims at ensuring that, by 2021:

  • MFIs supported by ADA have developed and diversified their service offerings and strengthened the capacities of existing and potential clients.
  • Governance and management of Microfinance Institutions (MFIs) supported by ADA are professionalized.
  • MFI access to finance is facilitated.
  • The professional associations and networks supported by ADA have strengthened their capacities and are successful partners in project implementation.
  • The conditions for developing financial inclusion in the countries where ADA operates are improved.
  • The MFEA and the Luxembourg development actors receive support and advice in inclusive finance provided by ADA.
  • Knowledge on financial inclusion produced by ADA is disseminated.
Caritas

For the period 2017-2019, the Luxembourg Directorate for Development Cooperation has mandated the NGO Caritas Luxembourg, which has been active in the Balkans far more than a decade, to implement its anti-poverty strategy in Kosovo. This strategy is structured around two main intervention planks: (i) income generating activities and  (ii) education , supplemented by two cross-cutting topics: gender and the environment. Implementation is handled by the Caritas office in Ferizaj (Kosovo) via a community development approach. The current strategy is largely consistent with previous mandates, whilst also foreseeing an exit strategy for Caritas Luxembourg and putting emphasis on strengthening the capacities of the Foundation Kosovo-Luxembourg (FKL), which is set to continue supporting various activities at the end of the current mandate.

Proman

Since the 90s the Luxembourg Directorate for Development Cooperation has supported integrated local development in the North of Mali under an executive mandate delegated to the Luxembourg company Proman. This partnership has proved especially beneficial and, over the years, the "sustainable development in the Kidal region – DDRK" programme has become the region's main development vehicle. The DDRK mandate's objective is to improve household living conditions by means of access to high-quality social services and economic opportunities to increase income.

To cope with the political crisis in Mali, the DDRK programme's objective has been refocused to support populations displaced from the northern regions, and more specifically schoolchildren displaced from Kidal, who have gathered in Koulikoro, Bamako, Ségou and Sikasso. The displaced schoolchildren receive material and educational support, enabling them to learn and perform better at school. Furthermore, the host schools and local authorities receive support to contain the negative effects of the conflict on the education and training sector.

SOS Faim

The Agri + project, also known as Innovative Financing Facility for Family Farming, aims to transform and modernise family farms in targeted areas in Mali and Burkina Faso.

SOS Faim's approach is to facilitate access to medium- and long-term financing for family farms and farmers' organizations. The Agri + project supports a specific training program on agricultural financing for producer organizations. It provides a guarantee fund for local banks and microfinance institutions, as well as credit lines to offer financing products tailored to the needs of beneficiaries.

The project is integrated in the PICs in Mali and Burkina Faso, and aligns with their focus areas, in order to improve the coherence of the different interventions financed by Luxembourg.

Last update

LuxDev et autres mandataires

L'agence luxembourgeoise pour la coopération au développement LuxDev est l'agence d'exécution pour la majorité des projets bilatéraux mis en œuvre par la coopération luxembourgeoise.

Néanmoins, d'autres partenaires sont également sous mandat du ministère:

  • ADA détient un mandat général pour la période 2018-2021 sur des activités de microfinance;
  • Caritas au Monténégro et au Kosovo;
  • Proman pour le développement rural au Mali; 
  • SOS Faim pour des projets de microfinance en milieu rural au Mali.

Liste des mandataires

LuxDev

L'agence luxembourgeoise pour la coopération au développement LuxDev travaille dans 14 pays répartis sur quatre continents. L'essentiel de ses activités est concentré sur les neuf pays partenaires de la coopération luxembourgeoise, définis par le gouvernement du Grand-Duché. À part en Afrique (Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Mali, Niger et le Sénégal) ces pays sont situés au Nicaragua et au Salvador en Amérique latine ainsi qu'au Laos et Vietnam en Asie du Sud-Est.

Pour chacun des pays partenaires, un Programme indicatif de coopération (PIC) est adopté par les gouvernements du Luxembourg et du pays partenaire. Le PIC constitue un programme pluriannuel qui définit les grands axes de coopération (secteurs, zones géographiques, modalités d'intervention) et le budget pluriannuel indicatif réservé au programme. Il traduit l'engagement à long terme qui lie la Coopération luxembourgeoise à ces pays. Dans chaque pays partenaire, l'Agence est représentée par un bureau régional qui partage ses locaux avec les missions diplomatiques officielles du Luxembourg.

À côté des pays partenaires privilégiés, la Coopération luxembourgeoise a des relations avec d'autres pays en Europe du Sud-Est (Monténégro et Kosovo) et en Asie (Mongolie et Myanmar).

Appui au développement autonome - ADA

La Coopération luxembourgeoise soutient le travail de l'ONG ADA-Appui au Développement Autonome depuis sa création en 1993, à travers des cofinancements, diverses subventions ou mandats. Le dernier mandat, signé en janvier 2018, couvre la période 2018 à 2021.

L'objectif global du programme financé par le ministère est d'expérimenter, développer, mettre en œuvre et diffuser des solutions pour l'inclusion économique et financière ayant des impacts positifs sur le développement durable et sur les conditions de vie des populations dans les pays les moins développés. Le travail d'ADA se concentre sur les femmes, les populations pauvres et dans les zones rurales.

Le mandat découle de la collaboration de longue date entre le ministère et l'ONG et concerne sept domaines de résultats. ADA, en partenariat avec le ministère, vise à faire en sorte que d'ici 2021 :

  • Les institutions de microfinance (IMF) appuyées par ADA ont développé et diversifié leur offre de services et renforcé les capacités des clients existants et potentiels.
  • La gouvernance et le management des IMF appuyées par ADA sont professionnalisés.
  • L' accès des IMF au financement est facilité.
  • Les associations professionnelles et les réseaux appuyés par ADA ont renforcé leurs capacités et sont des partenaires performants de mise en oeuvre des projets.
  • Les conditions de développement de l'inclusion financière dans les pays où ADA intervient sont améliorées.
  • Le ministère et les acteurs luxembourgeois du développement reçoivent des appuis et des conseils en finance inclusive fournis par ADA.
  • Des connaissances sur l'inclusion fmancières produites par ADA sont diffusées.

 

Caritas

Pour la période 2017-2019, la Coopération luxembourgeoise a chargé l'ONG Caritas Luxembourg, active dans les Balkans depuis plus d'une décennie, de mettre en œuvre sa stratégie de lutte contre la pauvreté au Kosovo. Cette stratégie s'articule autour de deux grands axes d'intervention:

(i) les activités génératrices de revenus et (ii) l'éducation, complétées par deux thèmes transversaux: le genre et l'environnement. La mise en œuvre est assurée par le bureau de Caritas à Ferizaj (Kosovo) via une approche de développement communautaire. La stratégie actuelle est en grande partie conforme aux mandats précédents, tout en prévoyant une stratégie de sortie pour Caritas Luxembourg et en mettant l'accent sur le renforcement des capacités de la Fondation Kosovo-Luxembourg (FKL), qui continuera à soutenir diverses activités à la fin du mandat. 

 

Proman

Depuis les années 90, la Coopération luxembourgeoise soutient le développement local intégré au Nord du Mali par le biais d’un mandat d’exécution délégué à la société luxembourgeoise Proman. Ce partenariat s’est révélé particulièrement fructueux et, au fil des années, le programme "Développement durable dans la région de Kidal – DDRK", est  devenu le principal véhicule de développement de la région. L’objectif du mandat DDRK consiste dans l’amélioration des conditions de vie des ménages grâce à un accès à des services sociaux de qualité et à des opportunités économiques pour accroître leurs revenus.

Pour faire face à la crise politique au Mali, l’objectif du programme DDRK a été recadré pour appuyer les populations déplacées des régions du Nord, et plus spécifiquement les élèves déplacés de Kidal, recueillis à Koulikoro, Bamako, Ségou et Sikasso. Les élèves déplacés reçoivent des appuis matériels et pédagogiques leur permettant de meilleurs apprentissages et rendements scolaires. Par ailleurs, les écoles et les collectivités territoriales d’accueil bénéficient d’appuis pour circonscrire les effets négatifs du conflit sur le secteur de l’éducation et de la formation.

SOS Faim

Le projet Agri +, également connu sous le nom de Facilité de financement innovante pour l'agriculture familiale, vise à transformer et à moderniser les exploitations familiales dans des zones ciblées au Mali et au Burkina Faso.

L'approche de SOS Faim est de faciliter l'accès au financement à moyen et long terme des exploitations familiales et des organisations paysannes. Le projet Agri + soutient un programme de formation spécifique sur le financement agricole pour les organisations de producteurs. Il fournit un fonds de garantie pour les banques locales et les institutions de microfinance, ainsi que des lignes de crédit pour offrir des produits de financement adaptés aux besoins des bénéficiaires.

Le projet est intégré dans les PIC au Mali et au Burkina Faso, et s'aligne sur leurs domaines d'intervention, afin d'améliorer la cohérence des différentes interventions financées par le Luxembourg.

Dernière mise à jour