Humanitarian Action

Luxembourg's humanitarian action strategy

Luxembourg’s humanitarian action strategy is founded on the respect of fundamental humanitarian principles which are humanity, impartiality, neutrality and independence. It falls within the European Consensus on humanitarian action which states that “humanitarian action is a moral imperative and the fundamental expression of the universal value of solidarity between peoples”. According to World Bank and United Nations studies, natural disasters claimed around 3.3 million lives between 1970 and 2010 -  which equates to an annual average of 82,500 victims - and affected 4.4 billion people since 1992, namely more than 200 million victims each year. Whereas the number, frequency and intensity of natural disasters is increasing, and having increasingly devastating effects, statistics do not indicate an upward trend in the death toll caused by natural disasters, which is attributable to an expansion of increasingly sophisticated early warning systems. Nevertheless, the evidence of the last two decades is that ever more people are affected by disasters. Moreover, whereas at an international level most of the material damage is borne by rich countries, it is the low and medium income countries which remain the most exposed to the impact of these cataclysms.

Nowadays droughts are among the most lethal natural disasters, especially if they affect particularly vulnerable communities. Between 2010 and 2012, chronic undernourishment affected almost 870 million people in the world. According to FAO estimates, most of them - some 850 million people, or somewhat less than 15 per cent of the world’s population - live in developing countries. Moreover, each year malnutrition causes the death of 2.6 million children under the age of five in developing countries. Even if certain countries have managed to improve their population’s food security since 1991, others have had to contend with prolonged and complex food crises.

Unfortunately  earthquakes, droughts, floods and storms are inevitable events. However, the victims and damage are partly down to acts of omission and are not necessarily natural and inevitable foregone conclusions. The international community must therefore be ready to intervene in a coordinated and effective manner to ensure better preventive action while increasing the resilience of the communities at risk, namely the ability of states and communities to resist and respond to such disasters.

Apart from natural disasters, armed conflicts are a scourge of major proportions even if progress has been made in recent years. According to the Human Security Report 2012, not only has the number of armed conflicts – involving states or not – declined since 1946 but their intensity has also diminished. The fall in the number of victims of conflict is largely explained by the reduction in the number of high-intensity conflicts between states. However, it is important to add that the regions of the world most affected by overt conflicts are the regions of sub Saharan Africa and Central and Southern Asia, with some of the poorest countries in the world. Furthermore, conflicts have changed in nature since the end of the Cold War and new phenomena have emerged: the involvement and targeting of civilian populations by recourse to brutal violence, in particular against women and children, the proliferation of conventional weapons, especially small arms, urban violence, increasingly young but well-organised and dispersed armies, and the forced recruitment of child soldiers. Given the extent of the humanitarian crisis in Syria and neighbouring countries that has endured since 2011, there are certainly grounds for challenging the trends described in the aforementioned report.

Luxembourg's commitments under the World Humanitarian Summit

The first World Humanitarian Summit took place from 23 to 24 May 2016 in Istanbul and was attended by almost 9000 participants from 173 member states, including 55 heads of state and government, numerous representatives of the private sector and civil society. For Luxembourg, the delegation comprised Prime Minister Xavier Bettel and Roman Schneider, Minister for Development Cooperation and Humanitarian Affairs. In Istanbul, Luxembourg undertook 42 individual commitments and signed up to three joint commitments, the details of which you will find in the documents below.

Luxembourg's activities in 4 countries in crisis

The Luxembourg response to:

Examples of partnerships between Luxembourg and multilateral agencies
Last update

Action humanitaire

L'Action humanitaire luxembourgeoise

La solidarité internationale et les principes humanitaires - humanité, neutralité, impartialité et indépendance - sont au cœur de l'engagement de l' Action humanitaire luxembourgeoise. Ils sont le moteur de l'ambition du pays d'être un acteur du changement positif face à l'augmentation des besoins humanitaires et des vulnérabilités à l'échelle mondiale. Notre objectif est d'exploiter davantage les moyens et l'expertise du Luxembourg pour aider à répondre à l'ampleur sans précédent des besoins humanitaires dans le monde entier.

Stratégie luxembourgeoise en matière d'action humanitaire

La stratégie luxembourgeoise en matière d'action humanitaire se conçoit dans le respect des principes humanitaires fondamentaux d'humanité, d'impartialité, de neutralité et d'indépendance. Elle s'inscrit dans le Consensus européen sur l'action humanitaire qui affirme que "l'action humanitaire est un impératif moral et l'expression fondamentale de la valeur universelle qu'est la solidarité entre les peuples". D'après des études de la Banque mondiale et des Nations unies, les catastrophes naturelles ont fait environ 3,3 millions de morts entre 1970 et 2010 - ce qui revient à une moyenne annuelle de 82 500 victimes – et ont affecté 4,4 milliards de personnes depuis 1992 soit plus de 200 millions de victimes par an. Alors que le nombre, la fréquence et l'intensité des catastrophes naturelles se multiplient et produisent des effets de plus en plus dévastateurs, les statistiques ne laissent pas constater une tendance à la hausse du bilan des morts liés aux catastrophes naturelles, ce qui est dû à une augmentation des systèmes d'alertes précoces toujours plus sophistiqués. Toutefois, les deux décennies passées ont fait état d'un nombre de plus en plus élevé de personnes affectées par des catastrophes. De plus, alors qu'au plan international la plupart des dégâts matériels incombent aux pays riches, ce sont les pays à bas et moyen revenu qui demeurent les plus exposés à l'impact de ces cataclysmes.

Les sécheresses figurent aujourd'hui parmi les catastrophes naturelles les plus meurtrières, surtout si elles affectent des populations particulièrement vulnérables. De 2010 à 2012, la sous-alimentation chronique touchait près de 870 millions de personnes dans le monde. Selon des estimations de la FAO, la majorité - quelque 850 millions de personnes, soit un peu moins de 15 % de la population mondiale – vit dans des pays en développement. De plus, la dénutrition provoque la mort de 2,6 millions d'enfants de moins de 5 ans dans les pays en développement chaque année. Même si certains pays ont pu améliorer la sécurité alimentaire de leur population depuis 1991, d'autres ont dû faire face à des crises alimentaires prolongées et complexes.

Les tremblements de terre, les sécheresses, les inondations et les tempêtes sont malheureusement des événements inévitables. Pourtant, les victimes et les dégâts résultent en partie d'actes d'omission et ne sont pas nécessairement des fatalités naturelles et inévitables. La communauté internationale doit donc être prête à intervenir de manière coordonnée et efficace pour assurer une meilleure action préventive, tout en augmentant la résilience des populations à risque, c'est-à-dire la capacité des Etats et des communautés à résister et réagir à de telles catastrophes.

Outre les catastrophes naturelles, les conflits armés représentent un fléau de grande envergure même si ces dernières années des progrès ont été enregistrés. Selon le Human Security Report 2012, non seulement le nombre de conflits armés – impliquant ou non des Etats – a reculé depuis 1946 mais leur intensité a diminué en même temps. La baisse des victimes de conflits s'explique largement par la réduction du nombre de conflits interétatiques de haute intensité. Cependant, il importe de préciser que les régions les plus affectées par des conflits ouverts dans le monde sont les régions de l'Afrique subsaharienne ainsi que l'Asie Centrale et du Sud, comptant parmi elles les pays les plus pauvres au monde. En outre, les conflits ont changé de nature depuis la fin de la Guerre Froide et de nouveaux phénomènes ont fait jour : l'implication et le ciblage des populations civiles par le recours à une violence brutale notamment à l'égard des femmes et des enfants, la prolifération des armes classiques, surtout des armes légères, la violence urbaine, des armées de plus en plus jeunes, mais bien organisées et dispersées ainsi que le recrutement forcé d'enfants soldats. Au vu de l'envergure de la crise humanitaire en Syrie et dans les pays limitrophes qui persiste depuis 2011, il y a cependant lieu de remettre en cause les tendances décrites dans le rapport cité ci-dessus.

Exemples de partenariats entre le Luxembourg et les organisations multilatérales
emergency.lu

Dernière mise à jour